The National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the NQF and sets a national benchmark for early childhood education and care, and outside school hours care services in Australia.

The NQS consists of seven quality areas, each containing standards and elements that children's education and care services are assessed and rated against.


Our Centre was assessed and rated in March 2014 and received an ‘EXCEEDING’ rating in all seven quality areas.

 Kapooka Early Childhood Centre Notice of Rating


The seven quality areas covered by the National Quality Standard are:


1. Educational program and practice

2. Children’s health and safety

3. Physical environment

4. Staffing arrangements

5. Relationships with children

6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

7. Leadership and service management

Source and see more at: